Hero Indian Open (Men)

The Hero Indian Open is a golf tournament on the European and Asian Tours that is currently held at the DLF Golf and Country Club. It is co-sanctioned and promoted by the Indian Golf Union.

The inaugural event was held in 1964 and won by Peter Thomson of Australia, who was the inspiration behind the event. Thomson used to stop off in India whilst travelling worldwide to play and soon realised the potential for golf and that the best way to promote it would be an international tournament. It was this insight that persuaded the Indian Golf Union to establish the Indian Open. Thompson continued to play in the event and won again in 1966 and 1976. His three wins was equalled by Jyoti Randhawa in 2007.

The first Indian winner was amateur Prem Gopal (Billoo) Sethi, who in 1965 won by seven strokes. He still remains the only amateur winner. It was not until 1991, when Ali Sher became champion, that India had another winner.

In 1970, the Indian Open became part of the Asia Golf Circuit and as a result the field increased in strength with notable winners such as three time major champion Payne Stewart.

There have been a number of sponsors over the years, with Hero MotoCorp being the title sponsor since 2005. The prize fund for 2019 was US$1.75 million.